Response from AllRecipes regarding ErrorSafe
May 15, 2007
A week ago, I warned about clicking on ads for ErrorSafe, or downloading and running ErrorSafe. I mentioned that those ads would pop up sometimes when I visited Allrecipes, a very useful website for, obviously, recipes. Someone named Monica left a helpful comment about emailing Allrecipes about ErrorSafe’s advertisements — so I emailed Allrecipes as well.
Today, I got a response from Allrecipes. Here it is, in its entirety (with some contact information eliminated).
Hello Josh,
Thank you for your e-mail.
We really appreciate you taking the time to write to us regarding this advertisement on the Allrecipes website. We’ve checked, and you are correct, this ad should not have been running.
I have notified our Advertising Traffic Manager about this ad, and he is working with the ad serving company to ensure that it does not run again.
Again, I do apologize for any offense, but we appreciate your taking the time to write to us regarding this issue. Feedback from our users allows us to know how we’re doing, whether it’s good or bad, and enables us to make corrections like this one.
Thank you for contacting Allrecipes.com. Please be sure to let us know if you have any further questions or comments.
where home cooks click
Anna
eRelationship Specialist
Allrecipes.com
Looks like we helped get at least one website “cleansed!” Let us know in the comments if you run across any other websites that pops up ads for ErrorSafe.

May 17, 2007 at 4:58 pm
Hello Josh,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us and post our response in your blog.
Please know that I really appreciate the fact that you did not include my phone number and email address, butI was wondering, would please remove my last name from the signature?
Furthmore, if you run accross this malicious ad on another website, would you please let me know?
Thanks for visiting Allrecipes.com
Happy cooking,
Anna
May 17, 2007 at 5:41 pm
Done! I apologize for including your last name.
May 17, 2007 at 5:46 pm
No worries. Thanks for removing it.
June 12, 2007 at 7:37 am
Do you know which ad companies are serving errorsafe, and if so, what banners / popups have it in them? I’m trying to remove it from my site, but my users can’t give me any hard information as to where it is coming from.
June 12, 2007 at 7:48 am
Manny — I have no idea which ad companies are serving ErrorSafe. Wish I could be of better help. Perhaps turn on or off some of your ads and see if one of them is actually ErrorSafe in disguise?
I see that other companies have complained of being “hijacked” by ErrorSafe too, and that ErrorSafe seems to be registered in different names — possibly from Panama.
http://osnews.com/meta/read.php/1161875986/a_word_on_advertisements.html
http://www.crypticide.com/dropsafe/articles/media/post20060308091742.comments